(Narcissism is high in most millennials living in industrialized countries. Students are probably enjoying writing about themselves. I can see why this is blog #1)

 

Born and raised in the Midwest, hunting bucks and riding trucks is all I’ve ever known.   I can’t go a second without a dip under my lip and a spitter in my hand. If we ain’t going to Dirty Dogs, we ain’t going to the Ville, yall understand?

 

Just kidding.
Even though I have never lived an hour away from Salina (a more conservative town in Kansas), I significantly differ from how individuals living in other states stereotype us ‘folks.’ Never have I rode a horse, never milked a cow, and if a girl asks me to square dance with her I’m probably going home alone that night. Even though I am not a modern cowboy (especially not the ones who go to the bar wearing decorative jeans), I still enjoy the vast number of opportunity and beauty the Midwest has to offer. During the summer you can find me with a poll in the water and some aluminum in my hand. We could feed a Dorm hall with the amount of deer meat we have stored in the freezer. Probably like everyone else who has to endure it, when the cold wind during Kansas’s dry winter is hitting me in the face I get the urge to move to Florida. However, in my opinion, nothing beats a Kansas summer (I’m talking about when your seatbelt is too hot to put on). Thus, having said that, the reason I chose to go to K-State was a combination between being able to continue enjoying the benefits Kansas has to offer while still being close to home. Looking back at it now, due to the connections and friendships I have made with colleagues and professors in my field of study, I wouldn’t choose to receive my Bachelors from any other college (even if I had a time portal at my disposal).

Not only was I born into white, male, heterosexual, and non-handicapped privilege, I had the best mom and dad in the world. Being the baby of the family (i.e., brother is 35 and sister is 34) nothing surprised my parents. They let me figure out my mistakes on my own. Not only were my parents always by my side, my brother and sister were positive role models to look up to. According to Bandura’s social learning theory in human development my family hit the nail on the head. My family, coupled with a hundred and some mistakes I’ve learned from, have helped me get to where I am today- a senior with a 3.9 whose resume shines bright.

I’m a psychology major who graduates in May. Because our blogs can be informal (correct me if I am wrong) you are currently not reading my writing at it’s maximum potential. Whether it be an APA based scientific paper with a specific maximum word limit or a poetic script I jot down when I am bored, writing is my forte’ (thus I plan to hopefully write our entire group paper assuming my teammates have in someway contributed). Although I can quickly use a number of search engines to find the most relevant, accurate, and modern psychological journals; my ‘go to’ search engine when it comes to computer science is practically non-existent. I don’t read scholarly articles regarding computing, nor do I ever read non-scholarly sites or blogs. As I previously mentioned I enjoy fishing, perhaps the most technologically savvy articles I read are in Cabela’s magazines about the latest fishing boats and trolling motors. Its fascinating that technology has progressed to a point where you can undock your boat, have the trolling motor automatically direct it to the closest and safest body of water, then automatically pick you up at the dock once you have parked your truck. Authors note: I am not sure how to further this rubric criteria without being dishonest, thus I am really hoping to not miss any points due to this.

            Along with being a full-time student, I have worked in the food industry for nine years and am past ready to throw in the towel. Every time a guest tells me at Olive Garden to “put the whole block of cheese on their salad, haha,” all I can think about is walking across that stage in May. Post graduation I will take my GRE and apply for I/O psychology grad schools. After grad school I plan to work as an organizational psychologist in a major company (Google ‘I/O psychologists’ if you don’t have any idea of what they are).

Currently I despise sitting in front of a computer. I would rather be at the Rec lifting or wrestling, running with my two dogs at the Dog Park or Linear Trail, or be losing money in a poker game at someone’s house (the only time I ever use math). Years ago I was very technology savvy but I have lost a lot of these skills. Most of my computer skills were illegal or at least strongly looked down upon in the computing community. If you have ever played World of Warcraft, and you got a phony email saying your account was compromised and you needed to enter your username and password into a website that looked similar to Blizzards, there was a chance it was my website and you got phished. Sorry pal, your WoW character is now naked and just transferred all their gold to a Chinese company (if you have gotten hacked before and you are reading this, please don’t give me a zero). Similarly, although I didn’t make well over a thousand dollars as I did in WoW, my soft-modded Xbox really frustrated some Halo 2 MLG gamers trying to hit level 50 (I was honestly a huge jerk, ‘lawling’ them over the headset as they rage quit).

I decided to take a computer science class to step out of my pseudo-science moral matrix the building of Bluemont has confined me to.   This is my last semester and I only have one ‘required’ class, so why not? I picked up this class, a couple business classes, a fitness class, and my 12th and final psychology class. Talk about a schedule full of variance. I think computer science is interesting for a variety of reasons. For one, because technology is expanding at such an exponential rate, I don’t want to be that technological laggard who everyone wonders how he or she made it in industrialized America. I want to be the early adaptor who jumps on technological innovations before they hit mainstream. This will not only provide me with the newest and most effective gadgets, but will help shed light about which products are worth investing in. However, due to the limited amount of knowledge this class teaches (due to it being an introductory level course) I probably won’t learn as much about computer science as I had hoped.

If I were to choose two textbook chapters that seem the most interesting, ‘Algorithms and Heuristics,’ and ‘Speed: Parallel Computers,’ would be my selections.   The former (i.e., algorithms and heuristics) raises interest due to wanting to learn the basics of coding. Being on a psychological research team I am proficient in programs such as SPSS and MATLAB. However, although I know how to find correlation coefficients, statistical significance, and other such measures, I am unknowledgeable as to how the program executes such functions. On my research team we have convinced a computer programming graduate student to write us various codes, and I think it would be interesting to get a taste as to what he is doing.

The latter chapter I had chosen, ‘Speed: Parallel Computers,’ seems interesting as it is seemingly similar to the human brain. I question if parallel computers is similar to humans ability to perceive various aspects of an object when encoding. I wonder if the millions of neurons that are rapidly firing at synapses during every cognition that comes to mind is similar to how computers process information at almost an instantaneous rate.

All in all I am excited to be apart of this class and look forward to gaining knowledge that lies outside of my realm.   I hope your as excited for the semester as I am!

 

 

References

Hillis, D. W. (2015). The pattern on the stone: The simple ideas that make computers work. New York, NY: Basic Books.

Ross, F. (n.d.) Trolling Motor Buyer’s Guide. Retrieved from http://www.cabelas.com/product/Trolling-Motor-Buyers-Guide/532011.uts

 

 

Leave a Reply

